top of page

MALAWI - FACTS AND FIGURES

Malawi is located between Mozambique and Zambia and borders Tanzania in the north. The country has one of the poorest economies in the world; in 2016, gross domestic product (GDP) was $295 and gross national product (GNP) was $350 per capita per year. The economy depends on substantial financial subsidies from the IMF, the World Bank and individual donor nations. In 2016, 70.4 percent of Malawians had to live on less than $1.90 per day. The country ranked 172nd out of 189 on the 2018 Human Development Index.

​​

Malawi is repeatedly afflicted by severe natural disasters, most recently in March 2019 by the foothills of Cyclone Idai, which caused severe devastation and many deaths, particularly in neighbouring Mozambique and Zimbabwe.

Before Malawi introduced free primary education in 1995, only half of the children of school age went to school. Since then, the number of primary school students has risen from 1.9 million to 3.4 million - 80 percent of the children.

 

A major problem in village schools is the lack of teachers. Around 80 children are taught in one class. Over the past decade, many teachers without teaching degrees have been hired and many former teachers have been brought back to improve the situation. Despite these efforts, the shortage of teachers was even greater in 2006 than in 2001 because many older teachers quit their jobs. In 2015, the literacy rate was 65.8 percent.

2016-05-27-malawi-sony-still-327-3524
2016-06-12-malawi-sony-still-038-0038
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-269-4288
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-298-4317
2016-06-09-malalwi-sony-still-051-4427
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-302-4321
2016-05-27-malawi-sony-still-027-3224
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-041-4060
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-088-0152
2016-06-09-malalwi-sony-still-028-4404
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-060-4079
2016-06-12-malawi-sony-still-021-0021
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-122-0186
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-235-0299
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-234-0298
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-031-0095
2016-06-12-malawi-sony-still-030-0030
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-213-0277
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-175-0239
2016-06-20-malawi-sony-still-021-0479
2016-06-19-malawi-sony-still-048-0365
2016-06-26-malawi-sony-still-325-1036
2016-06-20-malawi-sony-still-075-0532
2016-06-28-malawi-sony-still-082-1188
mathew-solo-1-uncropped
2016-07-01-malawi-gopro-still-571-5007
2016-06-30-malawi-sony-still-039-1349
2016-06-21-malawi-sony-still-017-0606
2016-06-30-malawi-sony-still-164-1474
2016-06-21-malawi-sony-still-006-0595
2016-06-28-malawi-sony-still-108-1214
2016-06-28-malawi-sony-still-079-1185
2016-06-30-malawi-sony-still-117-1427
bottom of page

Malawi liegt zwischen Mosambique und Sambia und grenzt im Norden an Tansania. Das Land zählt zu den ärmsten Volkswirtschaften der Welt, 2016 betrug das Bruttoinlandsprodukt (BIP) 295 Dollar, das Bruttosozialprodukt (BSP) 350 US-Dollar pro Kopf und Jahr. Die Wirtschaft hängt von erheblichen finanziellen Zuschüssen des IWF, der Weltbank und einzelnen Spendernationen  ab. 2016 mussten 70,4 Prozent der Malawier von weniger als 1,90 US-Dollar pro Tag leben. Beim Index der menschlichen Entwicklung liegt das Land in der Rangliste von 2018 auf Platz 172 von 189.

Malawi wird immer wieder von heftigen Naturkatastrophen heimgesucht, zuletzt im März 2019 durch die Ausläufer des Zyklons Idai, der insbesondere in den Nachbarländern Mozambique und Simbabwe zu schweren Verwüstungen und vielen Toten führte.

Bevor Malawi 1995 den kostenfreien Grundschulunterricht einführte, ging nur die Hälfte der Kinder im schulfähigen Alter in die Schule. Seitdem ist die Zahl der Grundschüler von 1,9 Millionen auf 3,4 Millionen gestiegen, dass sind 80 Prozent der Kinder.
Ein Hauptproblem in den Dorfschulen ist der Mangel an Lehrern. In einer Klasse werden rund 80 Kinder unterrichtet. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren wurden viele Lehrer ohne Lehramtsstudium eingestellt und viele ehemalige Lehrer zurückgeholt, um die Situation zu verbessern. Trotz dieser Anstrengungen war der Mangel an Lehrern 2006 größer als 2001, weil zahlreiche ältere Lehrer ihre Tätigkeit beendeten. 2015 betrug die Alphabetisierungsrate 65,8 Prozent.

 

MALAWI - FAKTEN UND ZAHLEN

2016-05-27-malawi-sony-still-327-3524
2016-06-12-malawi-sony-still-038-0038
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-269-4288
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-298-4317
2016-06-09-malalwi-sony-still-051-4427
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-302-4321
2016-05-27-malawi-sony-still-027-3224
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-041-4060
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-088-0152
2016-06-09-malalwi-sony-still-028-4404
2016-06-07-malawi-sony-still-060-4079
2016-06-12-malawi-sony-still-021-0021
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-122-0186
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-235-0299
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-234-0298
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-031-0095
2016-06-12-malawi-sony-still-030-0030
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-213-0277
2016-06-16-malawi-sony-still-175-0239
2016-06-20-malawi-sony-still-021-0479
2016-06-19-malawi-sony-still-048-0365
2016-06-26-malawi-sony-still-325-1036
2016-06-20-malawi-sony-still-075-0532
2016-06-28-malawi-sony-still-082-1188
mathew-solo-1-uncropped
2016-07-01-malawi-gopro-still-571-5007
2016-06-30-malawi-sony-still-039-1349
2016-06-21-malawi-sony-still-017-0606
2016-06-30-malawi-sony-still-164-1474
2016-06-21-malawi-sony-still-006-0595
2016-06-28-malawi-sony-still-108-1214
2016-06-28-malawi-sony-still-079-1185
2016-06-30-malawi-sony-still-117-1427